On May 15, members of the Oregon State University community came together to recognize outstanding faculty members as well as the generous donors who support them. This year's honorees included nine new holders of endowed faculty positions and two distinguished professors.

"Endowed positions are the university’s way of rewarding career accomplishments that with continued donor support, leads to long-term excellence," Provost Ed Feser said. These faculty demonstrate OSU’s pursuit of excellence not only through their research and teaching, but through the experiential learning environments that they provide to their students. 

View photos from the evening.

2017 Distinguished Professors

John Selker, Distinguished Professor of Biological and Ecological Engineering
Watch the video honoring John Selker

Alan Mix, Distinguished Professor of Earth, Ocean, and Atmospheric Sciences
Watch the video honoring Alan Mix

2017 Newly Endowed Faculty

Learn more about the newly appointed faculty and the donors who created these funds.

Roberto AlbertaniBoeing Professor of Mechanical Engineering Design
Zhenxing FengCallahan Faculty Scholar in Chemical Engineering
Sunil KhannaRobert & Sara Rothschild Endowed Chair in Global Health
Todd MontgomeryRobin and Curt Baney Faculty Scholar
Harriet NembhardEric R. Smith Professor of Engineering
Sara RobinsonGene D. Knudson Forestry Chair
Fred StevensLinus Pauling Institute Endowed Chair and Directorship
Maret TraberAva Helen Pauling Chair
David Williams '81
, Helen P. Rumbel Professor for Cancer Prevention

Learn more: 

The nine newest holders of OSU's endowed faculty positions are raising the bar in their fields.

Meet this year's distinguished professors:

Alan Mix, a professor in the OSU College of Earth, Ocean, and Atmospheric Sciences, is one of the world's leading paleoclimatologists. 

John Selker, a professor in the Department of Biological and Ecological Engineering, is known for his groundbreaking work in environmental instrumentation and hydrology.